They All Look Alike~WIAW!!

Well they don’t all look alike, but…close!

What doesn’t always look alike is What I Ate Wednesday.  What is that?  Well, it’s that wonderful party till you’re full party over at Peas & Crayons with the lovely Jenn wearing the hostess outfit!  Take a few minutes to visit and enjoy.  Most Wednesdays, I go back three or four times to catch up on all of the excitement.  Now play nice…don’t just sightsee over there…Be sure to leave some comments, because we all like to know when you’ve come to visit. So here we go…

Peas and Crayons

Why do I say they all look alike?  Well, because sometimes it seems like they all look alike!  I eat a lot of nut butter things.  I put them on apples…I put them on rice cakes…they still look like nut butters.  I eat a lot of salads and I do my best to make them look different, I  put them in my wonderful Big Purple Bowl, I enumerate all of my ingredients but in the end…they pretty much all look alike!  But, hey…what the heck.  They taste good and that’s all that really matters!

This was a wonderful salad from over the weekend.  It had romaine, tomato, green bell pepper, homemade black beans and leftover stuffing!  I like to put a grain in and was about to cook up something, when I thought about it.  I had stuffing, it needed to be eaten or I would have to throw it out so…it went in the salad.  With balsamic vinaigrette…it was Wonderful!  I certainly have made the most of this stuffing!  That’s good because my sister, Ele tells me she still has some more! Yikes!

I love it when overnight oats in a jar are done the right way…in a nearly empty nut butter jar.  This was a brand from Aldi’s.  It was tasty peanut butter, but even better with some O’s added in!

Very yummy and always more filling with the nut butter.

Speaking of nut butters…this following item needs to be listed under TIDNTKE (Things I Didn’t Need To Know Existed)  Ralph kept seeing commercials for Nutella and asked if I ever tried it.  I hadn’t.  I decided I’d get him some to surprise him.  Turns out he didn’t wanted it, just asked about it. 😦

I decided to be thrifty and I bought the Shoprite brand.  I have to confess…the jar is two-thirds empty.

However…this is the first time I’ve eaten it on rice cakes or crackers or bread or anything that wasn’t a spoon.  In other words, I’m addicted to it!!  It is just delicious.  Now I don’t know if the real Nutella could be any better than the store brand.  If it is better please don’t tell me because I’m going to have to lock myself in a closet Right Now!!  It is very yummy!

I tried cooking up some quinoa on Monday, which I promptly burned because I didn’t add as much liquid as usual…Duh!!  Most of it was good to use.  I would have been really disappointed if it hadn’t been.  It had that nice woodsy taste!  😉

Again…romaine, tomato, green bell pepper, black beans, woodsy quinoa and shredded cheese.

Looks like a salad doesn’t it.  That’s because it Is a salad!  Can’t fool me!  Can’t fool You! 

In life, I like things to be obvious.  I like people to be what they seem to be and I like my food to look like what it is.  I’m healthy and I’m happy and I enjoy the food I eat. So who cares if they all look alike.  I don’t think I do, I like things just the way they are.

So if you want to see some things that don’t look like this, be sure to hurry over to Peas & Crayons…you’ll see lots of pretty foods and hear interesting stories and ideas.  It’s some of the best food fun you can have and not have to worry about gaining any weight!  I’m on my way there now, myself!

Happy What I Ate Wednesday!!

25 responses to “They All Look Alike~WIAW!!

  1. the salad picture drew me in!!! I love chocolate peanut butter & nutella on anything!

  2. my friend likes the shoprite brand even better than the real nutella! (i, of course, love both.) my favorite way to eat it is on light mutitrain english muffins. soooooo good. and, really, healthy enough to call it breakfast. 😉

  3. I don’t think it matters either, I eat green smoothies and salads over again but I love them and I like to change up the ingredients to make them more interesting 🙂

  4. Yay for oiaj! Best invention ever haha 😉 Love the looks of that salad too!
    Happy WIAW!

  5. Any nut butter on rice crackers are sooo good!! 😀 I usually get store brand ones as well! Good enough 😉

  6. I agree… some things are just better left in the store lol =)
    Have a wonderful Wedneday =)

  7. Shannon, it’s terrible, It never hit a cracker or piece of bread…right into my mouth!

  8. I can’t buy Nutella because I just can’t stop eating it! I saw a version at Trader Joe’s the other day and somehow I managed to resist. So glad that I did. But really, it looks delicious Fran!

  9. Even better than Nutella is Biscoff spread, have you ever had or heard of it? It is absolutely divine. I heard that TJ’s is going to be making a version, so excited because it’s kind of hard to find.

    • I’ve heard of it Marie, but I’ve never had it. I read on a blog that it was coming to TJ’s. I really need to make a pilgrimage up there. It’s like a 45 minute ride, but it may be worth it. Not during the holidays though, the traffic is Insane!

  10. Fran, you can click on the highlighted (in pink) ‘Cheez It Bark’ on my blog and it will take you right to the recipe.

    It is really, really good. I also made a batch with semi-sweet chocolate and I like that one better than using milk chocolate.

    It’s a fun and different treat to pass out during the holidays.

  11. Nut Butter makes everything delicious! Lately I’ve been obsessed with cookie butter from traders joes. It’s not really made from nuts, but it’s amazing!!

  12. Haha in my opinion, nut butter can go on ANYTHING. Ive totally dipped peanut butter puffins into peanut butter before. OH MY GOSH your tongue will freak out with joy. hehe

    Happy WIAW!

  13. Stuffing in a salad? That’s a great idea! Just like croutons but much much yummier!

Leave a comment