An Afternoon Out

It’s been very difficult lately for my friend Gail because of her Mom’s health.  She hasn’t had a chance to get out and friends have all been coming to her house to help in what ever way we can.  Thursday we were able to get her out of the house for a few hours to try to take her mind off of things.

I didn’t take any photos of the excursion but Gail, Alice and I had a great time.  We started with lunch at Taco Bell.  I have yet to calculate the points on the Beefy 5 Layer Burrito (-beef + beans) that I had.  I know it won’t be good.  In my mind I gave it 10 points.  I have to look it up though.  It was big and filling and came from the $1.39 menu!  I couldn’t believe it!  I enjoyed it and it reminded us of all the times we’ve gone to Taco Bell while staying at Gail’s condo in Clearwater.  fortunately, I didn’t notice the Limeade that they have until we were on our way out.  I had one while we were in Silver City last fall and it was delicious!  I’m sure it’s filled with sugar and I don’t need to be drinking it too often.  Maybe I can figure out a way to lighten it up!! 😉

After lunch we went to a produce stand I hadn’t been to before and we got Easter flowers from Gail’s Mom.  I need to go to this place again, it has lots of interesting foods and I need time to browse through it.  It’s not far, I don’t know why I never realized it was there!

We then went to a local paperback book exchange so that Gail could get some books.  I behaved and didn’t buy a one! 😉  We stopped at Family Dollar to help feed our Tootsie Pop habit.

We headed back to Gail’s house where everything was about the same.  I was glad that her brother had stayed to give Gail the opportunity to get out.  She really needed it and I think she enjoyed it.

When I got home I fixed dinner for Ralph, roast pork and baked potato.  He said it was very good and so filling he has leftovers for tonight’s dinner.

I made myself a salad.

Romaine, grape tomatoes, green bell pepper, sunflower seeds and black beans (from a can 😦  ). 

I used the balsamic vinaigrette that was leftover from last Friday’s salad from Picasso’s.  I don’t quite know why, but when Kristen and I got our salads, they sent 4 containers for each of us!  I was actually happy because I ended up with all of them and I love their vinaigrette! 

My salad was HUGE and delicious!  It really is a help for me to make such a big salad.  It fills me up and keeps me on track. 

At one of our stops today I bought mandarin oranges because I haven’t been able to find clementines.  I think it’s the end of the season and I’m truly sad.  I had gotten mandarins on my produce trip last week, but they didn’t have any this week. 😦  These were not so tasty, but it gave me something to snack on in the evening.

In the morning I had started to soak some navy beans that Gail had found in her cabinet and knew she wouldn’t be using.  The funny thing is, I had them sitting on the couch next to me so I wouldn’t forget them.  Everybody who walked in the door said “Navy Beans?!?”  Yes, Navy Beans!

After soaking overnight, they are now happily cooking away in the crock pot! It’s funny, but I find it so comforting to know I have a batch of some kind of beans in the fridge.  I can do so many different things with them.  I need to stock up on some more. 

It’s Good Friday.  I remember growing up we were always told we had to be quiet from 1pm to 3pm. I should try that.  Hey, I’ve been able to not eat chips all through Lent.  I may continue to not eat them, just because it makes me feel more in control.

Have a blessed Good Friday.

One response to “An Afternoon Out

  1. I love Navy Beans. I should do something with them more often.

Leave a comment